April 25, 2013

  • Just for the record

    Mom started her chemo today. 4 very tiny pills each & every morning. I really hope that she will do well on this and that the side effects are not too bad, if any at all.

    My Aunt, Uncle & cousin from NY are all down with her now. It is doing her good to see family that she hasn’t seen in so long.  It also helps keep her mind busy.

    She has to go every week to have her blood tested & every 4 weeks to see the Oncologist.
    The social worker went over a lot of things with her yesterday regarding different organizations & things that are out there for cancer patients, such as wigs, scarves, makeup, etc.  She will also get a $50 gas card each month from the American Cancer Society to help cover her gas expense having to go back & for to the cancer clinic each week. This all touched me very much.
    She is on a very restricted diet now as well. Only fish & chicken, no other meats. No processed foods. Cream soups, creamy cereals. The list is long. They also said to eat small portions, but often.
    She has already lost a lot of weight & doesn’t have much of an appetite any more anyway.

    I saw the first bear of the season last night. It was dark, so I wasn’t able to get any pictures, but I am sure that he was captured on the game camera. If hubby will get the chip in tonight, I will post any that we got.  I watched him through the binoculars for a while until he got scared off when hubby pulled into the garage.  He had gotten the mineral block that we have outside for the deer & brought it down to a comfy space for him to sit & nibble on it!

    I got to get in a short visit with daughter today after she got off work & before she had to head to class. I have only seen her once right after I got home, so it was good to get caught up even if it was in just a short amount of time.  I really miss her. 

    I am just feeling really “blah” today. Can’t get motivated for anything.  I am hoping that sunshine & warmer temperatures this weekend will snap me out of this funk!

Comments (8)

  • I truly hope this helps your Mom<3
    It seems like it will be hard to eat that way…it involves a lot of cooking and fresh stuff.
    I am glad there are organizations out there to help and i hope she takes advantage of them all.

    Ha!! The bears are back!
    I hope the game camera got picys…i Love seeing the Bears…from my computer not up close lol

    I bet you do miss daughter right now…and your mom being ill probably makes you want to spend more time with her
    (((HUGS)))
    I hope you get warmer weather and the blahs take a hike…we need to talk soon :O)

  • I hope your mom beats the C. Glad we don’t have bears or snakes or cougars …

  • Hope your Mom is doing well!

  • thinking of your family and still she’s in our prayers and u. i’ve been sooo non-productive too doreen. sigh. gotta do something other than play FL. so lazy. i hope your mom’s keeps improving. best to you all!!

  • Hi Doreen, I hope she does so good its so hard to watch anyone face chemo, I am so glad she gets funding for her gas that is awesome.

    Here is a link of 31 I had never heard of it either its more for organization than anything but it has some pretty nice stuff but very pricey or at least to pricey for me lol……http://www.thirtyonegifts.com/ I hope the link works as I tried it twice & nothing lol.

  • so sorry about your mom and hoping the chemo will work and not make her too sick~ i know it’s so tough watching those you love go through something like this. cancer is so scary.. but there are so many survivors and that’s a comfort knowing! blessings~

  • Sorry to hear about your mom. Have come to believe that cancer is the reward we get for living long enough.

    Haven’t seen any bears yet either; maybe they went back into hibernation. Dang ole global warming.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *