Month: August 2012

  • Mama said they'd be decades like this....

    My mom told be back a couple of years ago when I turned 50 that she really hoped I had better times in my 50's than she did in hers. She said her 40's were her best years & her 50's sucked. Well mama, I'm afraid that I take after you. So far my 50's have sucked. This year has been the worst year for several different reasons. But I can only pull myself up by my bootstraps & jump back on my horse & hope for a better ride.... bummed

    I actually got to go & see my mom & my dad recently. Unfortunately it wasn't a planned trip or one to be excited over. I jumped on a plane the morning after hearing that the mass that was found in my dad from his colonoscopy was cancer.  All that I knew was that I had to be there for both of them during his surgery, hospital stay & recovery. I knew that cancer was in him & that the doctor would surely go right in & get it out. Hmmph..NOT!  Because of his congestive heart failure & sleep apnea, the surgeon said he would need clearance from his primary care physician first.  There was other prepping that needed to be done, one of which is getting him off of certain medications.  Oh well....I got to spend 4 days with them before flying back home. Now I am waiting to hear from them any minute as to when the surgery will be scheduled & I will go right back down there again.

    Prior to getting this news though, my brother & his family finally made the trip up to visit us for the first time since we moved to Wisconsin.  We picked them up at the Minneapolis airport & took our almost 11 year old niece to the amusement park inside of Mall of America before coming on back home. Daughter also came with us as she was off of work & loves to ride the rides! Well, this 10 year old going on 11 is as tall as I am! Check out these 2 pictures of her & my 22 year old daughter!

      

     

    I also have pictures back from when we were in Tulsa that were taken before the Memorial Service.


    me & hubby


    I love this one of daughter & hubby!


    Daughter & me

     

    Hubby & I will be back in Tulsa the first of October to attend the 2012 Tulsa Hall of Fame.

    EDIT:    The Hall of Fame is put on by the Tulsa Historical Society each year & awards past or present people who have made a difference to the city. Here is a link to this years event & the inductees (one of them being my MIL who just recently passed away)  http://www.tulsahistory.org/recognition/hall-of-fame/

     

     

    No matter how bad things are...just remember "this too shall pass"

    and after every storm, comes the calm

    or in this instance, a rainbow!