Month: May 2013

  • A-May-Zing!

    A collage I made of some of my May bird pictures..

     

    May....just about gone...Where IS the time going to?

    I guess I will do a quick May summary of what has been going on here.

    First of all, my mom ended up back in the hospital on 5/6. She evidently wasn't strong enough after all she had been through to start the chemo. She has been off of the chemo since that time & went home on Mother's Day. She has been doing very well since then. She went last week to the Oncologist & he is wanting her to get even stronger before putting her back on the pills, so she has 4 more weeks to do that & then they will try it again.

    May 9th was hubby's birthday. We celebrated by going out to eat with daughter & her bf. Had a fun time. No, I didn't take any pictures! I did take this one though of hubby after he finally shaved his winter beard & I buzzed his hair....

    He looks so much younger & thinner all clean shaven! :)

     

    Daughter sent me these pretty flowers for Mother's Day. She had to work that day & then study for her finals, so I didn't get to see her on Mother's day...but I am getting use to her having her own life now! lol..

    The weather for the month of May was crazy all over. We had a May 2nd snowstorm that left us with 9" of snow & set new records.  Here are some pictures from that...

    Yes, just the day or so prior to this snow storm, I had put out my hummingbird feeders!

    Crazy!  All of the animals freaked out over it too!

    But then this happened...

    and finally spring decided to come to Wisconsin....well sort of...it would come & go. We would have a couple of pretty days & then we would have a frost warning.

    Memorial day weekend was rainy, windy & cool. We did attempt to take our first fishing trip on Sunday. It ended up so windy we had to just come on home. But hubby did end up catching 6 bass!

    The yard is finally greening up & the lilacs & lily of the valley have blossomed.

    We went to the Farmers Market this past Saturday morning & I bought a couple of plants for the porch. Also got some asparagus, green onions, garlic & Wisconsin cheese.

    Here are my 2 plants that I got...

    We are still thinking of that property that I talked about a while back. We have concrete siding on our current house that was suppose to be so wonderful, but wasn't tested for the Wisconsin weather, so it has cracks & damage, but it is covered under the manufacturer's warranty (except for the labor).  So we are in the process of getting that sorted out & then will begin to get that taken care of. Once they start, it will be about a 2 week job. While that is going on, we will go & take one final look at that property to see if in fact we want to make an offer on it & put our home on the market. I am still very torn over this. Hubby is too. We just love where we are at, but having the 80 acres & a lake right there on our property would also be nice.

    Here are some pictures of that place..I am copying & pasting, so I hope they show up...

     

     
    This is the side of the house that overlooks the lake


    this is the screen porch & the part of the house you see when you drive up.
    (also a MUCH smaller garage that what we have now!)


    This room is pretty cool. You can see the lake out of the window...


    the lake...

    *sigh...I just really don't know...so torn!

     


    This picture is in my collage, but you can't see it as well...so I wanted to post it larger here...I love that I was able to catch the one in flight.

    While I was out in the yard the other day & by the lilac bush, hubby was on the porch. He said he wanted to take my picture standing in front of the bush as it is hard to get a perspective as to just how large it is. I was even surprised to see this...and I see the lilacs every day!