Month: February 2013

  • Goodbye February

    19 days until Spring!! Yes, I am counting the days!

    February was actually a good month. The main reason was that we spent 6 glorious days on Sanibel Island, Florida. I had never heard of this place before until hubby read about it somewhere. It sounded like the perfect place to get away to. Come to find out, so many people that we know have been there before! lol.. After visiting, I can see why it is such a popular place. We will definitely be returning.
    The  barrier island is 12 miles long. It is offshore of Fort Myers. It has world renowned shelling beaches. It is very laid back & was just what hubby needed as a getaway from the stress of work. It was just what I needed with the sun, sand & water!  It was one place that was very hard to have to leave & come back home!

    I have an album on FB that is open to the public to view. If you want to see you can go here: Florida Trip

    I am also posting some here (of course!) Remember, you can click on an individual picture to make larger.


    We had a beachfront cottage. (ours is the yellow one ) ...   The path from the cottage to the beach...the beach where we were staying

                          
    There were SO many shells!    ...we did a whole lot of walking on the beach, relaxing, eating, drinking & watching sunsets.  I could get use to that!

    Every sunset was totally different!

     

     

             

     

     

    we really enjoyed all of the birds!

       

               

    We also chartered a fishing trip!! You KNOW that I loved that!!!  We caught a variety of fish & took some back to grill out that evening for our dinner.

                

    We saw a lot of Manatees at the park in Fort Meyers 

     

     

    I collected a lot of seashells to bring home!

     

    Then yes, the wonderful week had come to an end...and we had to go home...

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Ugh...this is what we came home to. 


     

    We both have been doing some dreaming ever since we got home...how wonderful it would be to live somewhere warm, with sand & shells & water...fishing for our dinner, eating fresh seafood...aah yes..it still is putting a smile on our faces & takes us away in our mind!


     

    Then came Valentine's Day! 

     
    Hubby gave me this beautiful flower arrangement. I love the picture that I took of them sitting on the deck on top of the snow!
    We had a nice quiet dinner at home. I count my blessings that I have such a wonderful man.

     

    I have had fun making a few things with my shells.

    Made this picture fame & have it hanging with a picture from our trip so we can still enjoy the beach vibe...

     

    I also made a memory jar

      

     

    and finally made one from our trip LONG ago to Pensacola!    

     

               

                                                                                                                                                          
    I liked how this one turned out better, with this type of jar.


     

    I have been doing a photo project this year where I am posting a photo each day. I am trying to keep it to a photo from that actual day, but a few times I have done one pertaining to the day from years past. It is harder than I thought it would be, even for me who loves to take pictures!  It is also posted on my FB page. If you are interested in seeing it you can go to it from here:

    Project 365 2013


     I apologize for not keeping up both in my posting & in my reading over here. I am still tossing around the idea of just leaving Xanga...but yet, I find it really hard to actually do.

    I guess part time over here is better than not at all...at least for now...

     

     ♥ Doreen ...AKA...Zanychk ♥

     

  • Hello February!

    Just 46 days until Spring!!! That can't come quick enough after waking up to -11 degrees this morning & the wind chill was -26!

    We have had our share of ice & snow too, the last week.

    Here is what has been happening around here since my last blog...through they eye of the camera...

    (I posted them smaller this time, so it wouldn't take as long to load. Remember, you can click on any to make them bigger.)

    The deer finally started coming back around. Hubby would put corn for them down, but they would pig out & eat it all pretty quick, then go to the bird feeders and eat out of there too!

    haha...love the expression on her face! ^                                                                                                     

    a big herd of deer came in this evening!  As you can see, I love watching the animals & the birds & photographing them...keeps me entertained while I stay inside where it's warm!

    A foggy, cold start to this day.     This poor squirrel is trying hard to keep warm!  I am so grateful for hubby & his John Deer tractor with snow blower attachment.

    You can see how bad our driveway gets (and it is a long drive & at a slant)

      

    Yes, we do spend the money on birdseed! (but it is worth it)                               

      

    It was funny watching this squirrel try to climb the pole. He only got about that far & then would slide right back down as it was icy!
    He looks mad & pouty in the 2nd picture!

    So as you can see, not a whole lot going on around our house this time of the year!