Month: November 2012

  • Our Thanksgiving was small & laid back. It was just so nice to have my tiny family together, plus one...(daughter's bf)

    I have to say though, watching the Macy's Day Parade was just not the same being home alone! (Hubby was at deer camp...daughter doesn't live with us any more)
    It use to be a family affair....sausage balls & the parade. Then it turned into an "us girls" event as hubby doesn't get into parades much! lol..
    Even last year, daughter was already moved out, but she came over & we had our tradition. But not this year. *sigh....I am so happy that I raised her well & that she is on her own, but oh my...
    holidays are just not the same!

    I am also very disappointed that I only got one picture from yesterday. I told everyone first thing that I wanted a group picture, a family picture, and couples...the other 3 party poopers all rolled their eyes & muttered something under their breath.  I of course was busy in the kitchen...when the food was done, we all had to eat...I knew where this was going to lead...if I didn't grab my camera now, I wouldn't get any pictures...so here it is ...the only 1 to mark my Thanksgiving 2012...(and forget me asking them to look at me & smile...I just had to point & shoot. Although, daughter being the drama queen that she is actually did both!)

    Hubby headed back to deer camp around 5:00 this morning. He will be home Sunday night. So far nobody has gotten anything. We did have a cold front & snow come in overnight, so we were hoping that would get the deer moving.

    My day today was a nice lazy one. I spent a lot of time on the computer. I did some on-line shopping & browsing. Caught up on blogs & emails & FB since I wasn't online yesterday. Also did a bit of crafting.

    Now I believe it is time to go & pour a glass of wine & catch up on the news.

     

  • Happy Thanksgiving

     

    Just wanted to stop in & wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving. Most of us will not be on the computer tomorrow, so I best say it now!

    Hubby is at deer camp, but will come home tomorrow afternoon. Daughter & her boyfriend will also come over! Our family is small, but I am thankful that we will be together tomorrow.
    I do miss living close to our relatives & being able to get together with them during the holidays.  I am thankful that my brother & his family will have my parents over to their home.

    We have been blessed with mild weather here for the month of November. Tomorrow is suppose to be in the upper 50's, but then we do have a front coming in tomorrow night & with it, much cooler temperatures & chances of some snow.

    I hope you all have a day surrounded by family, friends, laughter & good times. If you are traveling, I wish you safe travels.

       

  • First snow

    We had our first snow for the season today. It came down pretty good for a while & actually stuck except on the pavement.

    Of course, all of the animals came out ....

       

     I just stayed in & turned on the fireplace & did some crafting & took it easy.  I am coming down with a cold & so I used the weather as an extra excuse to be lazy!
    I took some ground venison out of the freezer & will make chili for dinner. I also took a pheasant out of the freezer to cook for dinner tomorrow night. (hubby went pheasant hunting in South Dakota a couple of weeks ago & brought home 7!) Then by the time the weather warms up again on Thursday, I will go to the grocery store silly

    I am so glad that this election is just about over with. I went & voted early last week hoping that the 5 to 7 a day average political phone calls we were getting would stop. That didn't happen!

     

     

     

     

  • I had an e-mail from an old Xanga friend who asked if something had happened to my dad.  She saw the last post that I had done was on the day of his surgery & then nothing else since then.
    I felt so bad! My dad is fine..he actually ended up with a much longer hospital stay the first time around after the surgery & then ended up with several complications after being home for a week & ended up back in the hospital for a 2nd time. I was doing daily updates on my Facebook as most my friends & family are there now & I never thought, much less had a chance to update over here at Xanga.  I apologize for that. I ended up cancelling my flight home 2 different times & actually flew from Texas on into Tulsa  the last weekend of September as we had that award ceremony for the family to attend on October 1. So hubby drove down by himself & then I met up with him there.

    I will have to be honest & say that I will be so happy for this year to just be over with. Which speaking of...it almost is! Can't believe it really, but I am so ready to put it behind me & hope that 2013 is better.

    I've been thinking of just closing down my site over here, but then I look at all that I have over here & think that I will leave it...at least for now. If for nothing else, a lot of people do still come over here to get a recipe! lol..