January 20, 2013

  • Wintering

    So here we are, past the middle of January already. Our temperatures have gotten cold. The wind last night was horrid, plunging the temperatures below zero.

    I have to say though, today isn’t so bad, even though the temp right now is 1.6 and the wind chill is -8…but I am inside & the sun is shining! That sun makes all the difference in the world!

    We do venture out every now & then & brave the elements & enjoy the beauty of the snow and see how different the landscape looks from what we see in the summer.
    Some of you may remember many times I have posted pictures of Dells Mill. It is usually a place we take visitors when they come. We drove out there a couple of weeks ago as I wanted to see what it looked like in the winter.  Here are a few pictures….

       Going over the Eau Claire River

     

    There is also a park that has winter activities on Thursday nights. We never have gone, but did go on a weekend to see one of the snow sculptures that I had read someone did.

                                                                     

    Cougar on Waterfall Nature Scene by Starvin Carvists

        
    The area that hubby is standing on is an “ice rink” in the park. Evidently Thursday nights, skaters are here & they have hot chocolate & bonfires and other types of entertainment.

    Of course, I have a few bird pictures  from my yard to share with you…

          
    The Cardinals always look so pretty in the snow. The last picture is of a grouse.
    We haven’t seen many deer here lately. We do get pictures of them from the game camera, so they are still around, just coming at night.

    Daughter came to visit one day. We got to have a “girl” day…she picked me up & we went to lunch & did some shopping, then came back to the house & had fun conversation & lots of giggles!    
    Oh how I love that girl!       

                 
    She was dancing in the sunshine!  I tell you, that sun does some magic to us when it is so cold & white outside!     

      
    Now that she has her new car, she always wants to drive! lol…

    Her & her BF had us over to their house last weekend to watch the Packers game. They cooked us dinner, which was wonderful & of course, just being together was great, even if the Packers lost :(

     

    I got out & about one day & went to my favorite local park. Once again, it looks so different in the winter time!

    It is wonderful to have a place this nice so close to go.

     

    We do have a winter escape planned though! I have to say, I am ready to get away to somewhere warm for a bit! We are going to a place called Sanibel Island. We have never been there before. It is in Southwest Florida on the gulf . I plan to walk the beach, collect shells, soak up the sun, feel the sand in my toes, eat, drink, and explore! Can’t wait!!! Oh & of course, I plan on taking lots of pictures!

    I am so far behind in posting my new recipes on here. I need to sit down one day soon & only do a food post!

    I will leave you with this snow ghost that I found on the side of our house…

    haha…it does look like a ghost, don’t you think?

     

Comments (8)

  • Wonderful photos — I love the shot of the water wheel, the birds (especially the last bird shot), and your daughter.

  • Your daughter is so beautiful – just like her mom! She just radiates happiness. I love the mill! The winter pics of it are wonderful. I love snow but I can well imagine you & hubby will enjoy the warm weather get away! peace & smiles

  • @slmret - thank you so much. That water wheel is one of my favorites too! I love going to that Mill in any season though!

  • @peacenow - Aww..thank you Jane. Yes, we love the snow, but after so long of seeing white outside, you really want the warmth & either grass or sand!

  • @zanychk - I imagine. As you know I’m not used to a lot of snow except sporadically .

  • @zanychk - It’s a beautiful spot — I’m not used to that degree of cold, and photos of frozen running water are completely foreign to me!!!

  • I Love the picy of you and daughter.
    It is cold there but i think i might enjoy that for a spell :o )

    I always enjoy your picys so much
    I Love daughters joyful smile.
    It must be different for you to go to daughters and be hosted ;o)

  • the mill is so pretty.. i love the water spilling over that way!
    and the little red schoolhouse, so CUTE.
    i can’t imagine the day when all grades packed in those for school..
    my grandparents went to one like that in the hills of kentucky growing up.
    it only went to the 8th grade, which is where my grandpa stopped {my grandma went on to another school}
    but my grandpa is one of the smartest, sharpest people i know!
    might say something about education, eh. ;)

    your daughter is beautiful~ those times of hanging with our girls are so special..
    my oldest is right behind yours in driving before too long.
    she’s already reminding me how many days. ;) )

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *